As seen in Colonial Williamsburg: the impressive Robert Carter post coach. This Robert Carter Carriage Ornament is 24kt gold-plated solid brass with enamel accents. 2" H x 4" L.
24 kt Gold-Plated Solid Brass
2"H x 4"L
Clean with a soft cloth.
For more than 50 years, Colonial Williamsburgs guests have enjoyed touring Duke of Gloucester Street in the manner and fashion of the 18th century, as passengers on one of the Foundations horse-drawn coaches. The coach and livestock program has been operating these unique tours continuously since 1947, when daily carriage rides through the Historic Area were offered for 50 cents per person. Today, more than 50,000 guests embark on the 15- or 30- minute journey through Colonial Williamsburg annually.
The Robert Carter Coach. In 2001 work began on Colonial Williamsburgs first new coach in four decades, made possible through the generosity of Maureen and Jim Gorman. Completed the following year by Florian Staudner of Vienna, Austria, it is based on an 18th-century English traveling coach in the ownership of Andre Becker of Coisigners, France. The coach takes its name from an 18th-century member of Williamsburgs gentry, who in 1773 ordered a strong, fashionable coach without a box, no guilding thereon, but neatly painted and varnished, the body to be lined with blue leather. Carters coach was built in London by Joseph Jacobs Jr. for a then-exorbitant $119. In his honor, todays Robert Carter Coach bears his familys coat-of-arms, which includes the Latin motto, Purus Sceleris (Pure in regards to wickedness or crime).